Monday, February 21, 2011

Charlaine Harris Sookie Author : Authors Announced for 2011 Arkansas Literary Festival

The Arkansas Literary Festival, the premier gathering of readers and writers in Arkansas, has expanded to include over 80 authors in many locations on both sides of the river in Little Rock/North Little Rock from April 7 - 13.

The Central Arkansas Library System's Main Library campus and other venues in the River Market and Argenta Arts districts are the sites for a stimulating mix of sessions, panels, special events, performances, workshops, presentations, opportunities to meet authors, book sales, and book signings. Most events are free and open to the public.

Festival authors include David Sedaris, Ree Drummond, Charlaine Harris, Mona Simpson, Isabel Wilkerson, Peter Beagle, and more. Authors attending the Festival have been honored with prizes and awards including the Pulitzer Prize, Newberry Prize, Rona Jaffe Foundation Award of $25,000, PEN Southwest Fiction Award, Rome Prize, Robert I. Freeman Award, Michener-Copernicus Award, Langum Prize for Historical Fiction, Guggenheim grant, NAACP Image Award, Heartland Prize, and Kore Press First Book Award. Three authors' books were featured on the cover of the New York Times Book Review.

Special events during the Festival include a cocktail reception with the authors, An Evening with David Sedaris, a book fiesta party for children, and cooking workshops. Panels and workshops will feature topics such local legend Charles Portis, a zombie/Austen mashup, first-time authors, poetry, gardening, songwriting, teacher training on Arkansas history, and a Literature at Lunch series.  Children's special events include a storytime on the lawn on the Governor's Mansion, performances from Shakespearean plays, a puppet show, and a concert by the Kinders.

Through the Writers In The Schools (WITS) initiative, the Festival will provide presentations by 18 authors for elementary, middle, and senior high schools and colleges in Pulaski County.

Click here for more information about the 2011 Arkansas Literary Festival.